Truckin’

I think “a gas station on I-80” might make a good litmus test, actually:

“The gas stations on I-80 are hopelessly corrupt.”

“I was so sick!  I was flat on my back for weeks.  And I thought, man, you’re really having the gas station experience now!”

“They’ll try to cheat you at that gas station, but they’re so poor.”

“The people at that gas station are so welcoming and warm-hearted!  Always smiling!”

“I bought some delicious snacks at the gas stations on I-80.  They heat them up right in front of you in these little ovens.”

“The bathrooms at the gas stations on I-80 are barely more than holes in the ground.”

“I was so frustrated, and I had to keep reminding myself, you’re at a gas station.”

“You have to haggle at a gas station.  They’ll try to charge you five dollars for a sandwich.”

“The gas stations on I-80 are so touristy these days – you see Westerners everywhere.  It doesn’t even feel like you’re at a gas station.  Where are the gas stations tourists don’t go?  I want to go there, you know?”

Leave a Reply

